Urban Nature Photography – The Backyard

"Great Egret Takeoff"

“Great Egret Takeoff”

This Egret visits the ponds near a shopping center in Northville, MI.


This Egret visits the ponds near a busy shopping center in Northville, MI. I had to walk around the pond and act like I wasn’t watching the bird so he wouldn’t fly away. (I figured this out after several attempts, over several weeks, of just walking up and shooting.) I dropped down on my stomach behind some landscaping and crawled, sniper style, over a little berm and created this photo as he took off.
"Toad in the Grass"

“Toad in the Grass”

I almost stepped on this American toad while creating photos of birds and flowers in our backyard.

Sometimes you don’t have to look any further than your own backyard. I almost stepped on this American toad while creating photos of birds and flowers in our backyard. I laid down on my stomach a few feet away and the slowly crept closer so I wouldn’t scare the toad. He stayed in the same spot for ten minutes before hoping away.

Northern Walking Stick

“Northern Walking Stick”

I had to visit friends in Nevada to finally get my first look at a walking stick.


My friend saw this Northern walking stick insect on their backdoor screen. We used a stick to move the insect to the rocks behind her house. She wasn’t sure what it was, and neither was I at first. I grabbed my camera and started shooting so I could identify the insect later.

I use the term “Urban Nature photography” to describe nature photos created in places that would be considered “in the city” rather than “out in the country”

Keep in mind the animals are wild. Please respect any animal you come across and never cause them any stress. Also remember to keep their safety in mind as well as your’s at all times. It’s more important to leave nature as you found it than to get the photo.

~ Daniel Kmiecik

Leave a Reply

