Wild Wednesday ~ I was not on acid at the time

"Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds"

“Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds”

Inspired by the line “cellophane flowers of yellow and green” in the Beatles song “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds”.


"Shroooms"

“Shroooms”

After a morning of shooting mushrooms and not coming up with anything worth while, I started playing around in Photoshop to see what would happen. This 1960’s style poster is the outcome. I like this version better than the straight photo of the mushroom.


Yes, I was listening to the Beatles and no, I was not dropping acid while creating these photos. I didn’t feel either of the original versions of these photos were great or even good enough to display. In fact, both were clunkers. One wasn’t in focus and the other was just boring.

Sometimes I use clunkers to play in Photoshop to learn the capabilities of filters and other features. I don’t know how many different filters I used on these photos, but it was several.

Next time you’re “weeding out” your photo library, don’t automatically throw out your clunkers. You might be able to create a different style of art photo, use them as a texture or “sandwich” them in Photoshop to create a stunning piece of artwork.

~ Daniel Kmiecik

Leave a Reply

