Friday’s Photos ~ Alternative Processing

Collection at Techatticup Gold Mine

“Collection at Techatticup Gold Mine”

I notice this odd collection of stuff at the Techatticup Gold Mine in Nelson, Neveda USA. As I was shooting the individual pieces closeup, it struck me the shelving unit itself is part of the collection.


I decided to play around with the original of “”Collection at Techatticup Gold Mine” to see what else I could create. Using Lightroom 5, I started moving sliders to see what affect each would have. If I find something I like or think looks “cool” I save the settings as a preset. I’ll try using the new preset as a starting point for other photos. Sometimes it works, sometimes the settings get tweaked for the new photo, and sometimes it just plain looks bad no matter what.
"Collection at Techatticup Gold Mine-Gritty Process" While I like the "straight" version of "Collection at Techatticup Gold Mine" I thought a grittier version might go well with the collection of bones and antiques. Turns out I like both equally.

“Collection at Techatticup Gold Mine-Gritty Process”

While I like the “straight” version of “Collection at Techatticup Gold Mine” I thought a grittier version might go well with the collection of bones and rusty stuff. Turns out I like both equally.


Don’t get hung up on the fact that I use Lightroom. Any photo editing software has settings you can play with; just start playing with them and see what happens. You might create something you really like.

~ Daniel Kmiecik

2 thoughts on “Friday’s Photos ~ Alternative Processing

Leave a Reply

